Yoga Beginner Poses Chart For A Beginner

basic yoga poses chart

A basic yoga poses chart is a very important tool when it comes to learning yoga poses. This is because a yoga instructor will have to explain every pose to his or her students. It is very likely that each and every student will at some point in their yoga lessons learn how to perform a specific pose but will not be able to remember how to do it. With the help of a yoga poses chart, this becomes much easier for the aspiring yogi.

Yoga Beginner Poses Chart Examples

A person standing on a beach

One example of such a yoga poses chart is the vajrasana posture. This is where the yogi has to stand with both feet on the floor but the body is not stiff as in a cross-stretch position. Instead, the body is arched so that the lower back can stretch. Next, the upper body has to be pushed forwards so that the knees are bent and the hips are lifted slightly. The upper body has to be lifted by pulling the shoulders upwards.

This is just one example of a yoga poses guide. There are lots more, which are aimed at helping the novice and the intermediate yoga practitioners. One of the poses that most people learn first in their yoga classes is the mountain pose. However, not all of them know how to perform the mountain pose correctly.

The upper body has to be pushed up and the buttocks slightly higher than the heart. The lower body has to be kept straight and relaxed so that the weight of the upper body is pulled down. Once this is done, the arms have to be pulled back so that they are pointing down the throat. The hips have to be pushed upwards.

Other Yoga Poses Postures

Another example is the lunge. In this pose, the distance between the feet should be equal to the distance travelled by the leg that is going forward. The arms have to be pulled up to the shoulder level. If these steps are followed properly, then the lunge will turn into the warrior II pose.

The third posture is called Prasarita Padottanasana. In this posture, the tip of the triangle is pointing towards the anus. The knees are slightly bent and the back has to be straight. The abdomen has to be pushed up and this pushes the entire trunk upwards. If you observe any discomfort in this position, it means that there is something wrong. Hence, it is important to consult a yoga instructor to get it fixed.

The fourth pose is known as Kriya. It is when the entire body is lifted up like a mountain and is brought down again. All the muscles of the legs and back have to be extended. The arms have to be kept parallel to the ground. The legs should not move outwards.

Explore More Charts

The fifth posture is called Bandha Sarvangasana. In this posture, the entire body is straight. The head is raised up like a hill. The buttocks are pushed upwards and the back is straight. If the knees are touching the floor, then it is a good thing that the yoga instructor has already taken care of that.

The sixth pose is known as Gomutra Garbha. In this posture, the hips are raised high up in the air. Thereafter, the entire body has to be pushed downwards. The back is held like a mountain and the whole activity is done in a circular motion.

The seventh and final pose is named Utsavarana. This pose is basically for those who have strong and flexible legs. However, the upper body has to be lean, and there has to be no relaxation of the back. Hence, the entire lower part of the body has to be straight.

Final Thoughts

There are a few basic warrior poses, which you should know. Warrior I, II, III, and IV are ideal for beginners. In warriors II pose, the hips have to be raised high. This increases the height of the torso and makes the legs stronger. In warriors III pose, the thighs are lifted high and the hips are contracted at the same time. In warriors IV, the legs are contracted and relaxed at the same time, the arms are extended straight above the head, the hands are placed on the sides of the hips, and the navel is thrust towards the abdomen.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter